Board of Directors

Our board members represent a diverse mix of Texas industries and regions. They bring a wealth of experience and perspective, and they understand that our mission is unique in today's market.

The governor, with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate, appoints five of the nine directors, including the chair. Policyholders elect the other four directors.

Ron Simmons
Ron Simmons, Chairman • appointed
Ron Simmons, of Carrollton, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual’s Board of Directors in 2019. He is chairman of the Retirement Advisors of America and a former State Representative for District 65. He is a former board member of the American Legislative Exchange Council and has served on the Education Commission of the States. Additionally, he is the former vice chairman of the Autism Society of America. Mr. Simmons received a Bachelor of Arts in Business from Dallas Baptist University.
John Swanson
John Swanson, Vice chair • appointed
Mr. Swanson, Frisco, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual's board of directors in 2012 and reappointed in 2018. He has nearly 20 years of corporate finance experience. He currently serves as president and CEO of Utica Resource Venture, LLC. Mr. Swanson is also a member of the Independent Petroleum Association of America, past technical reviewer of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and a past trainer for Junior Achievement of Midland.
Linda Foster-Smith
Linda Foster-Smith, Secretary • appointed
Mrs. Foster-Smith, Georgetown, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2008. She is retired from AT&T, where she served for 37 years, the last 15 years as director of external affairs for the Permian Basin. Mrs. Foster-Smith is a former member of the Board of Trustees for the Midland Independent School District, a former member and chairwoman of the Midland Chamber of Commerce, and former board chairwoman and campaign chairwoman for the United Way of Midland. She is former board secretary for the Permian Basin Community Center and past board president of the Midland Independent School District's Educational Foundation.

Brett Flagg
Brett Flagg • appointed
Mr. Flagg, of Frisco, Texas was appointed to Texas Mutual’s board of directors in 2019. He has been a practicing attorney in Texas for 35 years. He served as a partner in the largest law firm in Dallas before establishing his own firm, Flagg Law Group PC. His practice focuses on estate planning, asset protection, probate and general business counsel for high net worth entrepreneurs. Mr. Flagg currently serves as an Elder at Stonebriar Community Church and a member of the board of directors of e3 Partners Ministry/I Am Second. He is a past chairman of the Trinity Christian Academy board in Addison, Texas and a former member of the board of directors of the Frisco Chamber of Commerce and the Baptist Church Loan Corporation. He earned a Bachelor of Business Administration and law degree from Baylor University, and an LLM Taxation degree from Georgetown University.
Bernie Francis
Bernie Francis • elected
Mr. Francis, Carrollton, Texas, was elected to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2009. He is owner and CEO of Addison-based Business Control Systems LP and Dallas-based First Class Caregivers Inc. He is a member of the board of Senior Quality Lifestyles Corp. and of Workforce Solutions for North Central Texas. Mr. Francis serves on the Executive Committee of the Texas Business Leadership Council. He is past chairman of the Texas State University System Board of Regents and former chairman of the Texas State Technical College Board of Regents. He served three terms on the Carrollton City Council in the 1990s.
Kristi Koncaba
Kristi Koncaba • appointed

Kristi Koncaba was appointed to Texas Mutual’s Board of Directors in 2018. She has over 15 years of experience in commercial banking, including co-founding both Family Bancorp, Inc. and Friendswood Capital Corporation. Friendswood is the bank-holding company for Texan Bank, where she serves as president and chief operating officer.

Koncaba is the Past Chair of the Bay Area YMCA Advisory Board and serves on the boards of Texan Bank; Friendswood Capital Corporation; Innovative Alternatives, Inc.; Executive Officer of the Clear Lake Area Chamber of Commerce and the South Belt–Ellington Chamber of Commerce. Ms. Koncaba was a 2013 Change Magazine Women Creating Change honoree, a University of Houston–Clear Lake Early Achievement Award recipient, a 2017 Perry Family YMCA Volunteer of the Year and a 2018 University of Houston Cougar 100 honoree.

Eric Oliver
Eric Oliver • elected
Mr. Oliver, Abilene, Texas, was elected to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2009. He is founder and president of Softvest LP in Abilene; president of Midland Map Co. LLC in Midland; founder and principal of TenTex Music LLC in Nashville; founder and principal of Geologic Research Centers LLC, with a library in Abilene; and founder and owner of Caprock Title Co. in Midland. He is chairman of Midland-based AMEN Properties Inc., and he serves on the board of ACIMCO, Abilene Christian University's endowment management company. He is a former member of the Abilene Community Foundation's investment committee.
Danny Phillips
Danny Phillips • elected
Mr. Phillips, Dallas/Fort Worth, was elected to Texas Mutual's Board of Directors in 2012. He manages his own financial investments, and he is also the owner of the Diamond P. Ranch, a registered Texas Longhorn cattle operation. In addition, Mr. Phillips serves as Board Chairman for the Fortress Youth Development Center in Fort Worth, and he serves on the Board of Regents at Pepperdine University, the Investment Board of Abilene Christian University, the Board of Directors of, and the Board of Directors of Ministry Ventures.
John Young
John Young • elected
Mr. Young, Houston, Texas, was elected to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2013. Mr. Young is president of John H. Young, Inc., and vice president of JOY Resources. His family is majority owner of Central Bancshares, where he currently serves as chairman of the board, as well as Central Bank-Houston. Mr. Young is a member of The All-American Wildcatters–an informal oil industry fraternity that shares industry news–and past chairman of the Texas Oil & Gas Association (TxOGA).