September 5, 2023

Governor Greg Abbott appoints new Texas Mutual board member and reappoints two current members

New board member Gary Gibson

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Gary Gibson of Houston and reappointed Kristi Koncaba of Friendswood and the Honorable Ron Simmons of Lewisville to the Texas Mutual board of directors. Their board terms are set to expire on July 1, 2029. Simmons will continue to serve as chairman of the board.

Gibson joins the Texas Mutual board after the departure of John Swanson, who served on the board for over 10 years. Gibson is the chief financial officer of Star Furniture Company, a position he has held since 1994.

Koncaba was appointed to Texas Mutual’s board of directors in 2018, serving as secretary and operations chair. She has over 20 years of experience in commercial banking, including being the co-founder and president of Texan Bank, National Association which sold in March 2022.

Simmons has served as chairman of the Texas Mutual board since 2019. He is the co-founder and chairman of the Retirement Advisors of America and a former state representative for Texas House District 65.

Texas Mutual’s board members represent a diverse mix of Texas industries and regions. The Governor, with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate, appoints five of the nine directors, including the chair. Policyholders elect the other four directors.

Lead more about Texas Mutual’s leadership team and board of directors.

Read the full press release here.