Just for Employers

College Safety Programs

Free or discounted safety training at local colleges 

Texas Mutual partners with colleges throughout the state to offer free or discounted workplace safety and health courses to local businesses and their employees. In 2019, Texas Mutual gave $1.1 million in grants to 11 colleges across the state to provide these courses. Classes cover topics such as OSHA standards, general workplace safety topics, and specific topics geared toward the primary industries in each college's local community.

Texas Mutual partner colleges

Amarillo College

Course topics:

Fall Prevention/Protection
OSHA Standards
Mental Health First Aid
Confined Space Awareness
Defensive Driving
View current courses

Contact:

Toni Gray, Dean of Workforce Development 
tbgray@actx.edu
(806) 371-2903

Jeff Wallick, Director of Safety and Enviromental Technology
jwallick@actx.edu
(806) 371-2923

Angelina College

Course topics:

CPR: Health care Provider
CPR: Non-health care Provider
OSHA 10 or 20
Forklift Operator Certification
View current courses

Contact:

Esther Campbell, Manager – Workforce and Continuing Education
trainsafe@angelina.edu
(936) 633-5206

College of the Mainland

Course topics:

How to Develop a Lockout/Tagout Program
Improving Respiratory Protection Program
Protecting Hearing in the Workplace
Occupational Health Hazards
Walking Working Surfaces
View current courses

Contact:

Cindy Lewis, Director – Gulf Coast Safety Institute
clewis1@com.edu
(409) 933-8495

Del Mar College

Course topics:

Hurricane Preparedness for Industry
Basic Ergonomics
Developing a Culture of Safety
National Food Managers Certification
Vehicle Driving and Safety
View current courses

Contact:

Melinda Aguilar, Director – Continuing Education
maguilara@delmar.edu
(361) 698-2122

El Paso Community College

Course topics:

Hazardous Materials
Residential Construction Accidents
Restaurant Accidents and Injuries
Accident Investigation Procedures
OSHA Construction Safety
View current courses

Contact:

Barry Bogle, Director of Training
bbogle@epcc.edu
(915) 831-7116

Kilgore College

Course topics:

Recordkeeping & Workers' Compensation
Spanish for Safety Supervisors
Disaster Management
Driving Distractions
OSHA General Industry
View current courses

Contact:

Jennie Alcantar, Workforce Development Specialist
jalcantar@kilgore.edu
(903) 983-8170

Lamar Institute of Technology

Course topics:

Heartsaver First Aid CPR AED
Forklift Training
Aerial Lift Training
View current courses

Contact:

Angela Clark, Coordinator of Continuing Education
workforcetraining@lit.edu
(409) 880-8114

Lee College

Course topics:

Basic Safety Training
Hazardous Waste Operations
Lockout/Tagout
OSHA Recordkeeping
Reducing Slips, Trips and Falls
View current courses

Contact:

Marsha Tuha, Director of Workforce Development
mtuha@lee.edu
(832) 556-4450

Midland College

Course topics:

OSHA 10
Accident Investigation
Forklift Safety
View current courses

Contact:

Lyndolyn Pervier, Director of Workforce Continuing Education
lyndolyn@midland.edu
(432) 681-6329

Odessa College

Course topics:

Driver Education
Workplace Safety

Contact:

Rachel Galindo, Customer Service Representative - Continuing Education
rgalindo@odessa.edu
(432) 335-6575

Kristi Pruitt, Business and Industry Sales Coordinator – Continuing Education
kpruitt@odessa.edu
(432) 335-6816

Texarkana College

Course topics:

Forklift Operator Training
Confined Space Safety Training
View current courses

Contact:

Madeleine Russell, Workforce and Business Development Specialist 
madeleine.russell@texarkanacollege.edu
(903) 823-3014

Texas Mutual is here for hardworking Texans

Learn about our leadership and vision for building a stronger, safer Texas.

What makes workers' comp so important?

Find out about this comprehensive safety net for your business.